The Himalayan Times : Terai Madhes Loktantrik Party suffers split - Detail News : Nepal News Portal

Full News

Terai Madhes Loktantrik Party suffers split



KATHMANDU: The Terai Madhes Loktantrik Party (TMLP) has suffered a split, with a faction of party leaders led by party general secretary Mahendra Raya Yadav deciding to open its own separate political outfit on Friday.

The group of nine TMLP lawmakers led by Yadav notified the parliament secretariat of the split from Mahanta Thakur-led TMLP at 11:00 am. Accompanying Yadav were Ramani Raya, Govinda Chaudhary, Dan Bahadur Chaudhary and Chandan Shah.

Salauddin Musalman, Sabitri Devi Yadav, Arbinda Sah and Urmila Mahato were the other TMLP lawmakers supporting the new faction, which is preparing to apply for a new party status at the Election Commission.

The TMLP had a totoal of 20 seats in the Legislature-Parliament.


Split As per the clause 5 (2) of the Anti-Defection Act nine lawmakers of Terai Madhesh democratice party led by Minister for Industry Mahendra Prasad Yadav announcing a new outfit Tarai-Madhes Democratic Party-Nepal. As per the Parliament Act of the Legislature Parliament, there should be at least 40 per cent of the total lawmakers of any party to establish a new faction splitting from the mother party. Only some days before the Madhesi people’s Right forum (Democratic) has suffered a split, with a faction of party leaders led by sanjay shah.These Factions among them is already a clear sign of their Failure.I mean to say there are a lot of leaders to be called themselves in Madhesh but It’s pity for Madheshi people that there is no any single person to lead on behalf of them on national level. They spilit their party for money, position and post.Now spilitization become the prominent character of Madhesh based party.i would like to ask one question to Madhesed based leaders if they had no differences regarding the issue of Madhesh then why they time and again they spilit.This shows that they split the party to secure a better position in the next government. Roshan kumar jha LL.B 3rd year Kathmnandu school of Law ROSHAN KUMAR JHA,KSL,GAUR, BHAKTAPUR

Full Name

Email Address


Leave Comments

Enter Character above

I accept terms of use.