The Himalayan Times : Oli elected UML chairman‚ mixed results in other posts - Detail News : Nepal News Portal

Full News

Oli elected UML chairman‚ mixed results in other posts


THT ONLINE/ File Photo

Oli elected UML chairman‚ mixed results in other posts


Oli garnered 1002 votes while Nepal was restricted to 963 votes.

KATHMANDU: Defeating senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal, Parliamentary Partty leader KP Sharma Oli has been elected the new chairman of CPN-UML.

Oli garnered 1002 votes, while Nepal was restricted to 963 votes.

Also, leaders Bamdev Gautam and Bidya Devi Bhandari of the Oli panel have been elected as the vice chairpersons, and Ishwar Pokharel as the general secretary.

On the other hand, Ashtalaxmi Shakya, Yubaraj Gyawali and Bhim Rawal of the Nepal camp have been elected the vice chairpersons.

Ghanashyam Bhusal of the Nepal panel, and Bishnu Paudel of the Oli panel got elected as the deputy general secretary.

Gokarna Bista, Yogesh Bhattarai, Bhim Acharya from the Nepal panel; and Pradeep Gyawali, and Prithvi Subba Gurung from the Oli panel have been elected to the post of party secretary.

Now, the election committee has resumed the vote count for the central committee members.

A total of 2,154 out of 2,176 party representatives had cast their votes in the party's ninth general convention.



KP Oli close to victory‚ election results soon

KATHMANDU: With more than 95 per cent votes counted, KP Sharma Oli is certain to win the election for the CPN-UML's chairmanship, according to the party sources.

The election committee is preparing to announce the results shortly.

Oli and another senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal were neck to neck in the vote count.



KP Oli – 1002

Madhav Kumar Nepal – 963

Vice Chairman

Bhim Rawal -- 1082

Bamdev Gautam – 1072

Bidhya Bhandari -- 1057

Yubaraj Gyawali – 1026

Ashtha Laxmi Shakya – 1006

Rajendra Pandey – 997

Lal Babu Pandit – 973

Pradeep Nepal – 960

Kiran Gurung – 960

Dharmanath P Sah – 900

General Secretary

Ishwor Pokharel – 1059

Surendra Pandey – 1023

Deputy General Secretary

Bishnu Paudel – 1049

Ghanshyam Bhusal – 1041

Shankar Pokhrel – 998

Raghuji Panta – 926


Gokarna Bista – 1207

Pradip Gyawali -- 1106

Yogesh Bhattarai -- 1038

Prithvi Subba Gurung -- 998

Bhim Acharya -- 982

Bishnu Rimal -- 968

Parshu Meghi Gurung -- 977

Beduram Bhusal – 953

Keshavlal Shrestha -- 919

Raghubir Mahaseth -- 899

Full Name

Email Address


Leave Comments

Enter Character above

I accept terms of use.