The Himalayan Times : Golfers to leave - Detail News : Nepal News Portal

Full News

Golfers to leave



KATHMANDU: A three-member Nepali golf team is on Saturday leaving for China to participate in the Faldo Series Asia Grand Final to be held at the Mission Hills Golf Club from March 13-16. Sunil KC and Sangay Ongdi Lama will take part in the 54-hole tournament, while Nepal Golf Association General Secretary Tashi Ghale accompanied the players as the team manager. Sunil — who had finished third in the Faldo Series Qualifiers in October last year in the boys’ 17-21 age-category — earned the wild card for the Finals, while Sangay won the girls’ 12-16yrs section title to get the berth. Bhutanese duo of Ziwaing Gurung, the winner of the 17-21yrs category and Karma Dorji Khorko, who won the 12-16yrs section title, had also earned the tickets to Finals from the Qualifiers.

NOC’s assembly

LALITPUR: The Nepal Olympic Committee (NOC) on Friday held its sixth General Assembly (GA). The assembly passed a budget of Rs 29.145 million for the current year. A budget of Rs 3.4 million was also allotted as an assistance for different sports associations including the costs for holding national championships. Meanwhile, NOC also honoured NOC Founder Member Sushil Shamsher Rana, NOC treasurer Chhimi Urkyen Gurung, 16th Asiad bronze winner Deepak Maharjan, senior sports journalist Shyam Chitrakar, first female athlete to participate in international games Rita Shah Mukherjee and first female sports staff Bimala Malla Maharjan during the programme. NOC Women and Sports Commission President Geeta Rana handed over Rs 25,000 each to Rita and Bimala.

Naya Bazaar triumph

KATHMANDU: Hosts Naya Bazaar Club registered their third victory in the first Kirtipur Cup Basketball Tournament defeating Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) 76-63 on Friday. The hosts now share the second spot with Golden Gate on seven points after four matches. Gurukul lead the standings with eight points from four matches. Naya Bazaar began the match with a 22-14 lead before TAC reduced the deficit lead 19-16 in the second period. The departmental side were still in the match with Naya Bazaar leading by just one-point (18-17) in the third quarter but the hosts scored 20 points in the final period restricting TAC to 13. Saurab Shrestha scored 16 points for Naya Bazaar.

FC Internet lift title

KATHMANDU: FC Internet won the title of the Ncell Youth (U-15) Cup Football Tournament qualifiers of Makawanpur district on Friday. In the final encounter, FC Internet eased past Padam Pokhari Youth Club 3-1. Anjan Bista, Sujan Ale Magar and Suraj Lama scored for FC Internet while Rabindra Chhetri pulled one back for the losing side. Santosh Ghala of Padam Pokhari was adjduged the best player of the qualifiers.

Badminton tourney

LALITPUR: The pairs of Raju Bajracharya and Aakash Chhantyal, Suroj Maharjan and Kishor Byanjankar entered the men’s doubles semi-finals of the third Lalitpur Districtwide Badminton Championships here on Friday. Suroj and Kishor overcame Sunil Barahi and Ujjwal Dahal 21-18, 21-14. Meanwhile, Bishal Thapa and Bikash Maharjan, Kamal Shakya and Sanu Babu Maharjan, Naresh Tamrakar and Ranjit Ghatani, Dutta Thapa and Raju Deuja made it to the quarter-finals.

MPL Twenty20

BIRATNAGAR: Bagmati Charger, Maruti Royals, Arihant Gorkhas and PR Warriors won their respective matches of the fourth Marwadi Premier League (MPL) Twenty20 cricket tournament here on Friday. In the first match, Bagmati Chargers defeated Ankit Royals by 87 runs, while Maruti Royals beat PR Warriors by six wickets. Arihant overcame Bagmati Chargers by 12 runs and PR Warriors eased past Ankit Royals by 25 runs. The champions will earn Rs 21,000 and runners-up Rs 15,000. Also, man-of-the-series, best batsman and bowler will get Rs 5,000 each.

Full Name

Email Address


Leave Comments

Enter Character above

I accept terms of use.