The Himalayan Times : Cabinet nominates 17 of the remaining 26 CA members - Detail News : Nepal News Portal

Full News

Cabinet nominates 17 of the remaining 26 CA members



KATHMANDU: Seven months after the second Constituent Assembly first met on January 22, the government today nominated 17 of the remaining 26 members required to give complete shape to the 601-member CA.

Of the 17, Nepali Congress and CPN-UML have nominated eight each, while one was nominated by the Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal. Nine members are yet to be nominated. Four seats have been allocated for Unified CPN-M and four for Madhes-based and fringe parties. NC will get one more seat as agreed among the major parties.

Two of the nominees, Radheshyam Adhikari of NC and Agni Kharel of UML, were in the first CA as well. Both are senior advocates and had worked for the first CA’s Constitutional Committee and almost all the task forces formed to settle the disputed issues.

Although the Cabinet nominated Rukmini Koirala in the afternoon, the government issued a press release in the evening stating that her name had been removed from the list after the decision to nominate her was criticised by the media, as it went against the Supreme Court’s verdict. The apex court, on May 12, had directed the authorities not to nominate members from among those who were rejected in first-past-the-post or proportional representation system. She was 82nd on the NC’s closed list for PR.

Two of the nominated already have their kin in the CA. Mira Dhuju is wife of UML General Secretary Ishwor Pokharel, while Ganesh Thapa is RPP-N Chairman Kamal Thapa’s younger brother.

List of nominees

Nepali Congress

• Radheshyam Adhikari of Kathmandu, senior advocate

• Shiva Bahadur Khadka of Ramechhap is elder brother of NC central member Mina Pandey

• Pushkar Acharya of Morang is former vice president of Trade Union Congress

• Resham Baniya, party president of Myagdi chapter

• Shakal Dev Sutihar of Saptari is an engineer

• Surya Dev Das Urab of Sunsari is former teacher and NC worker

• Umesh Shrestha of Kathmandu is founder principle of Little Angel’s School

• Anil Kumar Rungta of Parsa is a businessman


• Udaya Nepali Shrestha of Dhankuta is a former law secretary

• Agni Kharel of Jhapa is a senior advocate

• Ganga Dangi of Morang is former central member of UML

• Mira Dhuju of Kathmandu is wife of UML general secretary Ishwor Pokharel

• Pemba Bhote of Bajura is general secretary of Nepal Federation of Indigenous Nationalities

• Partaman Dhimal of Morang is a UML worker

• Naresh Kharel of Jhapa

• Rajan Bhattarai of Kathmandu is UML central member and foreign affairs adviser of former PM Madhav Kumar Nepal


• Ganesh Thapa of Kathmandu is president of ANFA and younger brother of RPP-N chairman Kamal Thapa


• UCPN-M and Madhesi parties, which are part of the Federal Republic Alliance, said they would submit names only after the government addresses their concerns. “We have two concerns – the government did not consult us on what kind of persons should be nominated and the Madhesi parties were allocated fewer seats in comparison to their strength in the CA,” said UCPN-M Chief Whip Girirajmani Pokharel.

• Nepali Congress Joint General Secretary Purna Bahadur Khadka, who is close to senior leader Sher Bahadur Deuba, said the recommended names from the party violated party rules. “The names should be approved by either the party’s parliamentary board or the Central Working Committee. The decision was taken without calling meeting of either of the bodies.”

"Click Here to read today's edition of The Himalayan Times, just as it appears in Print. "

Full Name

Email Address


Leave Comments

Enter Character above

I accept terms of use.