The Himalayan Times : CA Elections: CPN-UML candidates' names forwarded - Detail News : Nepal News Portal

Full News

CA Elections: CPN-UML candidates' names forwarded



KATHMANDU: The Valley Special Coordination Committee of the CPN-UML has forwarded to the party the list of candidates that it wants to field in Kathmandu’s 10 constituencies in Constituent Assembly polls under first-past-the-post system. The committee has also recommended a list of candidates for proportional representation system.

According to Yogesh Bhattarai, a central committee member and VSCC member, the special committee tasked with recommending FPTP candidates, has recommended 15 people for the 10 constituencies.

Bhattarai said the panel has proposed fielding former deputy mayor of Kathmandu Metropolis Bidur Mainali in constituency-1, former prime minister and senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal in constituency 2 and central committee member Rameshwor Phuyal or vice-chairman of Kathmandu district committee of the party Krishna Rai in constituency-3. It has proposed fielding vice-chairwoman Bidhya Bhandari or Nirmal Kuikel in constituency-4, general secretary Ishwor Pokharel in constituency-5, Yogesh Bhattarai in constituency-6, Basant Manandhar or Rambir Manandhar in constituency-7, politburo member Astha Laxmi Shakya or Jeevan Ram Shrestha in constituency-8, party Chairman Jhala Nath Khanal or central committee member Krishna Gopal Shrestha in constituency-9 and Surendra Manandhar in constituency-10.

UCPN-Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal has announced that he will contest elections from Kathmandu-10, a seat which he won in the last CA elections.

Bhattarai said central committee member Krishna Gopal Shrestha will get the ticket for constituency 9.

Former PM Nepal, who lost constituency 2 in 2008 elections to Maoist leader Jhakku Subedi, will contest from the same constituency this time as well.

Although VSCC has proposed fielding Bidhya Bhandari in constituency-4, party sources said Nirmal Kuikel will contest from this constituency. Bhandari had lost the constituency to NC leader Suprabha Ghimire in 2008.The party’s standing committee will make a final call on selection of candidates across the country. The central committee had instructed subordinate bodies to send in the candidates’ list by September 5.

According to the Election Commission’s schedule, parties should file nominations of their election candidates under PR and FPTP systems on September 26 and 27, respectively.


i want to know about candidate name bishal shrestha, saudi arab

Full Name

Email Address


Leave Comments

Enter Character above

I accept terms of use.